With the new DOOM coming out today, I’m anxiously awaiting it to arrive in the mail. In anticipation, I’ve been playing some DOOM 2 and Duke Nukem 3D. I’ve never played Duke Nukem 3D before though, so I’m having a bit of trouble so far. The few levels I’ve played have been pretty unforgiving, and I’m only playing on Let’s Rock difficulty. I also miss auto save from playing so much ZDOOM.

I also tried out Tower of Guns for the first time last night. It’s pretty neat, and it definitely gets more fun the longer you play it. It’s a procedurally generated FPS/Dungeon Crawler/Bullet Hell that is pretty interesting. I need more time with it before I can give it a fair assessment so right now, I’m not leaning one way or another. The ideas and powerups are neat, but sometimes it can be kind of difficult to tell where you’re getting shot from. Not only that, but the rooms themselves are kind of blah. That said, it plays well, and finding secrets gives you a DOOM-esque feeling of satisfaction, so again, I need more time with it.

Anyway, I’ll see you on the other side of DOOM!

