Yesterday I got two of my highly anticipated games in the mail, Mirror’s Edge Catalyst and Guilty Gear: Revelator. I haven’t actually played Revelator yet, but I’ve been having a pretty good time with Mirror’s Edge Catalyst, with some exceptions.

Mirror’s Edge Catalyst is a prequel to the original Mirror’s Edge (which I consider to be a best game ever, read my synopsis on that here). Unlike the original, it features an open world with many side quests and other miscellaneous things to do. There are character progression upgrades, in fact, some of the moves Faith could do in the first Mirror’s Edge, she must now unlock with XP, collected by completing missions, side missions, or collecting things throughout the city. Initially I was a little apprehensive about this, but A. It makes sense since this is a prequel. B. It adds a sort of Metroidvania-like aspect to the city, where you’ll need certain techniques or gear to reach certain areas. I like progression like that.

Another thing that is kind of annoying is the companion app, and that customization features for your logo is ONLY accessible though the app, which you must have an EA account to access. I had an issue, but an immensely helpful call from their help desk got that straightened out for me. I made sure to give them a glowing review survey. That aside, this feature should really just be IN GAME.

Lastly, the story bugs me, because in order to find out WHY you owe this guy money and WHY Faith is locked up, you HAVE to read the comic book. There’s no other way around it, and they don’t ever tell you in game. In fact, the loading screen tells you to buy the comic if you want to know! Talk about forced marketing.

Those things aside, I’m loving the new Mirror’s Edge, the game play is tight and fun, and I’m looking forward to getting deeper into it. I’ll tell you more tomorrow.

Also, did you know that Cyberphile has a Facebook page? Feel free to swing by and get our new posts in your newsfeed.

These “What’cha Doin’?” posts are designed to spark discussion, so feel free to post in the comments what you’ve been playin’, watchin’, or listenin’ to lately.

