This weekend I played a lot of Guilty Gear: Xrd – Revelator. I watched the entirety of the story (yes watched, not played), completed over 400 combos and 70 missions. Soon (probably today) I start working on this version’s M.O.M. Mode, then at some point I’ll play a bit online as well. I’ll be able to write up a review for it soon.

If you’re not familiar with Revelator, check out my review on Guilty Gear: Xrd – SIGN, as pretty much everything I wrote there holds true for Revelator, with some changes. The graphics are just a teensy bit more polished, (though you’ll need a sharp eye as SIGN looks gorgeous to begin with) there are new menus and HUD, your character will glow blue when a BURST is ready, there’s a new lobby with a customizable avatar for online mode, a fishing mode for collectibles and character colors, a new story, 5 new characters (Jam, Johnny, Raven, Haehyun, and Jack ‘O), a change to the tutorial and mission modes, and a ton of things that I’m probably missing, forgetting, or haven’t tried yet, like M.O.M. mode. If you’re a Guilty Gear or fighting game fan in general, you really should get Revelator, especially if you liked SIGN.

In anime-related news, Haven’t You Heard? I’m Sakamoto was as good as it always is (the arm sax) and Kiznaiver, well… It seems like there’s a LOT going on to be wrapped up in a single episode… I guess we’ll see what happens on Saturday.

Also, did you know that Cyberphile has a Facebook page? Feel free to swing by and get our new posts in your newsfeed.

These “What’cha Doin’?” posts are designed to spark discussion, so feel free to post in the comments what you’ve been playin’, watchin’, or listenin’ to lately.

