Been getting back into Animal Crossing pretty heavily. I know when I’m getting into a phase of something, and I can definitely feel one kicking in right now. All I do is think about whether or not I could be playing Animal Crossing at any given moment. I kind of want to pick up Dobutsu no Mori, which is the Japanese version that came out for N64. It’s in Japanese, but I’ve always been interested in learning Japanese and I think it would be a really good way to learn it, to an extent, anyway. I tried out a rom, and there are very few Kanji (those are the more complex characters borrowed from the Chinese), it’s mostly Katakana and Hiragana, both symbols that that I know from studying in the past. It would give me an excuse to both have fun and practice at the same time. At any rate, I hope Nook is selling a Fishing Rod today; I still need one.

For the uninitiated, Animal Crossing is like a day-to-day life style game that is relaxing, and open to pretty much whatever you want to do. You move out on your own to a small town in a forest populated by anthropomorphic animals who can talk. Upon arriving, you get set up with a house and realize you didn’t bring enough money… So you’re now in debt (just like real life!). After a short tutorial involving you working part time in the only store in town, you’re cut loose to pay off your debt however you can, usually by selling things you find or get that you don’t want. And that’s pretty much your only concrete goal; the rest is there to do as you see fit. You can fish, catch bugs, dig up fossils, plant trees, decorate your home… or just socialize and run errands for your neighbors. There are a ton of things to do, and what makes Animal Crossing so unique is the fact that the game runs on your internal clock, meaning 8:08am in real life is 8:08am in Animal Crossing. The villagers have their own sleep cycles, shops will open and close, and people will come and go… All in real time. There are events on certain days, and fish and bugs are seasonal. It’s really fun and relaxing to do just… Whatever. If you’ve never played Animal Crossing before, you’re doing yourself a great disservice.

Also, did you know that Cyberphile has a Facebook page? Feel free to swing by and get our new posts in your newsfeed.

These “What’cha Doin’?” posts are designed to spark discussion, so feel free to post in the comments what you’ve been playin’, watchin’, or listenin’ to lately.

