I wasn’t feeling too hot yesterday, so I lied around in bed for most of the day. That said, I was still able to watch some anime, so that’s what I did. I finally finished Kill la Kill, and man, those last few episodes are a huge, fun filled adrenaline rush, just like the rest of the series. I also started watching Kokoro Connect, since I’ve finished the manga. So far it is identical to the the manga (which is good, since the manga is very good) and I’m liking the way the characters are being portrayed, well, with the exception of Yui. I’m only 4 episodes in, so maybe I’m complaining too much, but I feel like (and I know this is kind of silly) Yui isn’t cute enough. I don’t know. I just get a different vibe from her than I did in the manga, almost like she’s two different characters. The rest are spot on, however.

Kokoro Connect, involves 5 high-school freshman who are required to join a club, as per the rules of their school. Having strange interests, requesting clubs that don’t even exist, or getting into “spats” with the president of another club, these 5 are placed in the Student Cultural Society, or StuCS for short. At some point before the start of the series the 5 of them become friends. You have Taichi, the kindhearted and selfless protagonist material, who is also very into pro wrestling, Iori, the sweet and bubbly girl who cheers everyone up, Inaba, the cold, demanding girl with tricks always up her sleeve, Aoki, the club’s resident pervert who is always asking for dates with the club’s final member, Yui, the sweet, shy and innocent one who loves cute things. The 5 personalities come together and interact really nicely, but the main issue in the story is that one day, they all start swapping personalities, sometimes in the middle of the night, sometimes mid-class. There’s no real rhyme or reason to it either, and as I’ve read the manga, I don’t want to spoil anything, but they simply have to figure out how to get though it without their friendship falling apart.

Did you know that Cyberphile has a Facebook page? Feel free to swing by and get our new posts in your newsfeed.

These “What’cha Doin’?” posts are designed to spark discussion, so feel free to post in the comments what you’ve been playin’, watchin’, or listenin’ to lately.

