Today’s the big day! No Man’s Sky finally releases today, and while many are already exploring the stars, I’m waiting “patiently” ™ for Amazon to deliver my Limited Edition. Yesterday I played a bit more Salt and Sanctuary, and I’m actually coming up on the last 3 bosses. I also forgot to post about Ecco the Dolphin, which I played a bit of Sunday night.

Ecco the Dolphin is for Sega Genesis and is kind of like a platformer, but there are no platforms and you can move in any direction, seeing as you play as a dolphin underwater. The first few impressions of Ecco I have a good: Pretty visuals and some pretty great tunes. That said, the controls are wonky and the balance is kind of strange; some levels are brutally hard, but the next level you can breeze past without too much trouble. The main goal for most levels is to find a glyph that enables you to move another glyph out of the way, or find a ring of spiky sea creatures to break rocks to progress. The story is kind of strange, but I guess one day a random sea tornado takes/kills all of Ecco’s pod (that’s dolphin for family) and it’s up to Ecco to find out what happened. I can’t tell if I like it or not, but that said, it’s still a neat game.

Did you know that Cyberphile has a Facebook page? Feel free to swing by and get our new posts in your newsfeed.

These “What’cha Doin’?” posts are designed to spark discussion, so feel free to post in the comments what you’ve been playin’, watchin’, or listenin’ to lately.

