I got to start BioShock 2 yesterday, and so far, I’m not sure why I had so many reservations against it. Mechanically, it’s certainly a better game. The gun play feels just a tiny bit smoother, the ability to dual wield plasmids and your weaponry is great. Even though I only have a few weapons, they’re really cool models and ideas, like the drill arm and the rivet gun; Big Daddy staples, you know, since you play as a Big Daddy in this one.

Bioshock 2 (after a brief prologue) takes place roughly 8 years after the events of the fist BioShock, so the city is even more run down, as the sea struggles to reclaim it. More sea life like barnacles and starfish are reclaiming the city, much like an abandoned building would collect ivy and moss on land. The beautiful views of Rapture are only made more interesting thanks to this, and there seem to be a few portions where you get to traipse around the sea floor. This time around, you play as an early model Big Daddy, Subject Delta, and you’re on the hunt for a specific little girl, Eleanor. Apparently (I use apparently because I haven’t finished the game and can only guess at plot points) Subject Delta was part of some test to make the Big Daddies and Little Sisters linked on a more psychological and physical level, so the longer Delta goes away from Eleanor, the more his body struggles and begins to shut down. Unfortunately for Delta, Eleanor is Sofia Lamb’s daughter, the master psychologist of Rapture, who apparently has the splicers on her side this time, attempting to bring the city back to its former glory. Lastly, Tenenbaum returns to Rapture as well, as little girls are being stolen away from the surface and made into Little Sisters. Since this was Tenenbaum’s work, she feels responsible, and with the help of Subject Delta, maybe she can put a stop to these horrors once again.

All in all, I’m happy with it so far. Even though I have to work this weekend, I’m hoping that I’ll have plenty of time to advance, as I haven’t seen any material I haven’t gotten to before just yet.

Did you know that Cyberphile has a Facebook page? Feel free to swing by and get our new posts in your newsfeed.

These “What’cha Doin’?” posts are designed to spark discussion, so feel free to post in the comments what you’ve been playin’, watchin’, or listenin’ to lately.

