I’m giving Demon’s Souls another shot; I’ve never beaten it before, and I don’t remember getting too far in it. A few things throw me off about it. Firstly, the nonlinear route of where to go kind of confuses me. I’ve beaten Dark Souls once and Bloodborne numerous times, and the formula is pretty straightforward: Enter level, find a shortcut, beat boss, get new bonfire/lamp. In Demon’s Souls, levels are kind of like 1-1, 2-1, 3-1, etc., and you can’t really just do 1-1 through 1-4 and then move on to 2-1. I think you’re supposed to do 1-1, then 2-1, 3-1, etc. The levels are still all interconnected, but the difficulty ramps up in a way that I think is supposed to encourage trying different areas. This is really just a personal issue, I think, and I just need to figure out a good way of tackling it.

Next, I feel like the mechanics are a little wonky; kind of PS2-esque is what comes to mind. I guess I don’t feel real weight behind my attacks. Rolling doesn’t seem as effective as dodging in Bloodborne, and it’ll take me a bit of time to get used to fighting in a new, more defensive way. I also often end up doing that dumb forward + R1 attack all the time on accident, and it makes me get hit more often than I’d care for.

The last thing is “Demon’s Souls” saying it out loud is a mouthful. Go ahead and try saying it out loud a few times. I’ll wait. Done? Okay. This is just a silly little gripe that doesn’t actually mean anything to me, but it “Demon Souls” rolls off the tongue a little better.

But honestly, the game is really neat. I haven’t gotten far enough to give an honest opinion on the actual game itself, but back stabs and ripostes are satisfying, and the world and story are crazy interesting. As I get more comfortable with the controls and mechanics, I think I could really see myself loving the game, as I did with Dark Souls, and to a greater extent, Bloodborne.

Did you know that Cyberphile has a Facebook page? Feel free to swing by and get our new posts in your newsfeed.

These “What’cha Doin’?” posts are designed to spark discussion, so feel free to post in the comments what you’ve been playin’, watchin’, or listenin’ to lately.

