Sorry for the lack of a post on Friday, but things have not been super interesting, unless you’re a big Skyrim fan, as I’ve pretty much just been playing that. I can give you some details on my current character and where to go from here though, that’s for sure.

Okay, so, normally when I play an Elder Scrolls game, especially Skyrim, I play as a sneaky, light armored character, eventually toting some magic, mainly illusion and some restoration. I sneak around, get huge sneak attack bonuses, go invisible, or make the enemies attack each other before sneaking in and eliminating the final guy. It’s crazy fun. Any weaponry I end up using usually goes for dagger and bow, for maximum sneak attack damage. I usually go Wood Elf too, because, what can I say, I’m a fan of Wood Elves.

Anyway, I wanted to try something different and just go for a brute-force tank character. So I’m toting heavy armor, shield and sword (actually usually an axe, but I prefer the sword). But I maxed out my One-Handed ability so now I’m working on leveling up my Two-Handed skill. I have this badass Ebony Battleaxe. Run in, beat stuff up, move on. No magic, though I did use some restoration magic early-game when health potions were scarce. This guy is mainly a good guy mercenary sort of thing, so he’s doing the honorable thing, so, no Thieves’ Guild or Dark Brotherhood, and no Mage’s College, as magic isn’t really his thing. I did do the Companion’s story line though, and I plan on joining the Imperial army and completing the main story with this guy; he’ll be the majority of my trophies, but I do plan on making a character quite like the one I usually play to clean up some of the trophies I won’t get with this guy.

Finally, Skyrim has re-sparked my interest in high fantasy, and so I’m interested in trying the other Elder Scrolls games I haven’t played, starting with the very first game, Elder Scrolls Arena. It’s officially free on Bethesda’s site, and they even include a guide on how to set it up with DOSbox in case you’ve never used DOSbox before. I’m currently reading the 91 page (!) user’s manual that comes with the game to learn what all the stats and stuff mean before jumping head first into it. I have to say though, I’m actually kind of excited to go back to the Elder Scrolls roots.

Did you know that Cyberphile has a Facebook page? Feel free to swing by and get our new posts in your newsfeed.

These “What’cha Doin’?” posts are designed to spark discussion, so feel free to post in the comments what you’ve been playin’, watchin’, or listenin’ to lately. What kind of character do you usually play in Skyrim? What high fantasy games, movies, books, anime, or manga should I check out? I’d be interested in seeing what anyone has to suggest!

