Everyone was worried about the election, and I was just pondering whether I should go Imperial or Stormcloak. At any rate, congratulations or my condolences depending on who you voted for, but that’s all I have to say about that; I’m not a politics person.

While the TV was being taking up by news, I started the Elder Scrolls: Arena. I gotta say, despite being old and aged and on DOS, I’m actually having a pretty fun time with it. When you start, you find yourself in a prison (as is par for the course for the Elder Scrolls) and learn that the Imperial Battlemage, Jagar Tharn, has banished the Emperor to a plane of Oblivion, and is masquerading as the Emperor, releasing monsters to the land and ruling over it. Unfortunately, everyone in an important position to do anything about it is also replaced or killed. In fact, a woman, Ria Silmane is the only one with any answers and can only turn to you, as a lowly prisoner wouldn’t be under any suspicion. In fact, nobody even bothered taking your weapons away when you got thrown in the cell! Ria promises to give you guidance in your dreams, as she is dead, and only her magic binds her to the world. She informs you that the only way to save the Emperor is to find the eight pieces of the Staff of Chaos that Tharn has broken and scattered across the land. Once you’re out of the prison, you get teleported to a random town in the province that your character hails from. From here the game opens up as you either hunt down the Staff of Chaos, or do whatever it is you want to do. I’ve only just gotten into town (Where you can ask around for directions and rumors and things) and bought a few things (I love the ability to haggle prices, which that was in more games) so I can’t say too much more, except for that I’m digging it.

I’ve also, of course, been playing Skyrim. I’m nearly level 50, and between 60-70 hours but I feel like I’ve barely scratched the surface! I guess that’s what Skyrim is, since the game is so huge.

Did you know that Cyberphile has a Facebook page? Feel free to swing by and get our new posts in your newsfeed.

These “What’cha Doin’?” posts are designed to spark discussion, so feel free to post in the comments what you’ve been playin’, watchin’, or listenin’ to lately.

