For those of you that celebrate, Merry Christmas and Happy Hanukkah. I hope you got what you wanted. I got a Nintendo AVS from RetroUSB, which is awesome. It’s a 3rd party NES that outputs in HD and features a bunch of neat extra features like loading extra sprites to reduce flicker, a built in cheat system, a scan line filter if you really want that authentic CRT look, and even online scoreboards if you connect it to your computer. As an added bonus, it even has a slot to read Famicom games!

In other news, I’ve been playing the Legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past, which I have never completed. I’m on the 5th dungeon in the dark world, so I’m nearing the end of the game. Last time I played it, I think I stopped around this point, so I haven’t seen anything new yet… But last time I played I was playing specifically with a walkthrough for every collectible and Heart Piece. I have to say, it’s more fun to try and figure things out on my own, even if some things are kind of cryptic. I might be able to write up a big review on it soon.

Finally, I uploaded my first video to Cyberphile’s YouTube channel: CyberphileTV. It’s merely an introduction video, but it’s the first in hopefully many videos on the channel.

