Well, I watched Ghost in the Shell: Stand Alone Complex – The Laughing Man last night. It’s quite a trek; 2 hours and 40 minutes of a giant recap episode of the first season of GitS: SAC. And that’s all it really is. There are no new scenes or dialogue, and to add to the disappointment, all of the (English) voice actors are different from the actual SAC series. So essentially, they sum up the Laughing Man plot from the first season of SAC. Ultimately, I would advise against watching this movie unless you’ve already seen the series and just need a refresher on the Laughing Man case. Because, honestly, a lot of the Stand Alone episodes, which are self contained, one-off stories, are really good in SAC, and missing those is a huge part of SAC. Even though I know the movie Individual Eleven will probably just be the same thing, I’ll probably just end up watching that anyway. I was hoping there would be some extra scenes or content kind of like they did with the DeathNote recap movies, but… No dice. If you want to see SAC again, just watch the whole series. If you just want a refresher on the Laughing Man, though, I guess this is okay.

