Yesterday I started playing The Legend of Zelda: Oracle of Ages, and I have to say… I’m liking it so far! I remember playing Oracle of Seasons a lot as a kid, so I have a slight nostalgic connection to it.

This time around, Link finds himself in the land of Labrynna where he rescues Zelda’s nurse, Impa, from a group of Moblins. She states that she’s looking for the Oracle of Ages, Nayru (like Nayru of the Triforce?), who is in a nearby clearing. Link moves aside the Triforce block that only those blessed by the Triforce can do before discovering that Impa had been possessed by the evil Veran, Sorceress of Shadows who now jumps out of Impa’s body and possesses Nayru’s. Veran then takes off and start wreaking havoc through time (get it, the ages?) using Nayru’s power, so it’s up to Link to do his thing and stop her.

I’m not too terribly far, but Oracle of Ages seems kind of like a 2D Ocarina of Time. It plays very similarly to Link’s Awakening (but with a wider field of view, which is very nice), but the main mechanic is the ability to jump back and forth between the past and the present (sound familiar?) using the song from the Harp of Ages. Additionally, they added a bit of RNG to the game with seeds and Rings, which can be found randomly inside nuts grown from seeds, which you’ll plant in the past and collect in the present. These Rings give you extra abilities, and in my opinion, it’s a neat and fresh mechanic to the Zelda formula. I haven’t found any really great rings yet, but it’s a neat idea, and I remember farming them a lot in Seasons as a kid, trying to collect ’em all.

Another neat idea as far as Ages and Seasons go, is that you can play one, then transfer your data over with a password and play the second game as a sequel! Very cool idea on paper, but we’ll see how it goes in practice.

As a side note, I’m changing up Cyberphile’s YouTube channel to upload on Fridays instead of Sundays, that way you have a whole weekend to watch! Not only that, but I have a tendency to skip posting on Fridays because they tend to be pretty busy for me. If I can get caught up on editing my Let’s Play videos, I’ll post more than once a week, but for now, just expect videos every Friday.

